BU Microbiome Initiative Faculty

Daniel Segrè

Director, BU Microbiome Initiativedsegre@bu.edu

Systems biology of ecosystem metabolism, Marine, Soil & Plants communities, Synthetic Ecology, Human microbiome

Jenny Bhatnagar

jmbhat@bu.edu

Microbial ecology of fungi, Soil & Plants microbiomes


Sarah Davies

daviessw@bu.edu

Coral microbiome, Marine microbial ecology

Mary Dunlop

mjdunlop@bu.edu

Synthetic biology, Biofuels, Antibiotic resistance

Sean Elliott

elliott@bu.edu

Redox biochemistry and enzymology, Environmental microbiology

Horacio Frydman

hfrydman@bu.edu

Drosophila-associated bacteria and microbiomes

Wally Fulweiler

rwf@bu.edu

Marine biogeochemistry, Nitrogen Cycling in Coastal Ecosystems

W. Evan Johnson

wej@bu.edu

Human microbiome, Metagenomics data analysis, Cancer & Microbiome


Mo Khalil

khalil@bu.edu

Synthetic biology and Synthetic ecology, DIY continuous culture

Kirill Korolev

korolev@bu.edu

Biophysics of microbial ecosystem, Evolutionary Dynamics, Ecological theory

Joe Larkin

jwlarkin@bu.edu

Bacterial biofilms, cell-cell communication

Jeff Marlow

jjmarlow@bu.edu

Environmental microbiology and geobiology, Extreme microbial life

Pankaj Mehta

pankajm@bu.edu

Statistical physics, Ecological theory of microbial communities

Allyson Sgro

asgro@bu.edu

Multicellular Decision Making, Collective behavior in biofilms